Do Not Ask Me How I’m Doing

An Uncomfrotable January2

 

 

12807180160608437_E3jPjr6y_c

via cocktailswithmom.com

Please, don’t ask me how I’m doing. Because if you do then I will have to tell you. This is an Uncomfortable January after all. And this weekend I gave myself homework. Whenever someone said “How are you?”, I had to really answer.

Not just the usual “Great, thanks!”. I had to reject any desire to mask myself and answer truthfully how I was dong at that moment. 

Sheesh. It was harder than I thought it would be. 

I had to tell people things I didn’t want to.

“Oh, I have a headache. How are you?

” Well, my son is having a tantrum so I have to go.”

I’m alright. Feeling a bit insecure today though for some reason.”

Do you know how awkward it is to actually answer that question? It makes me really uncomfortable. Perhaps if I was sitting and a friend asked me over coffee then it is no biggie. Most people who ask it are just being polite. They said it in passing and expected no real response. 

I found myself dreading being the person that made them slow down and listen to me. I didn’t want to unload on an innocent question asker. But, it was my challenge so I did it.

I learned how much I want to control what people think of me. How much I want them to see me as having it put together or a pleasure to be around. I didn’t want them to feel obligated to say something nice just because I told them my day was hard.

But, I think I need to trust people more. Trust that they really do care, and they really do want to make time for me. 

So, how are YOU doing?

1 Comment

Filed under An Uncomfortable January

One response to “Do Not Ask Me How I’m Doing

  1. Loved this post! I usually always actually answer, maybe not honestly in the fullest but I try to say something other than “Great!” unless I am. I should note, I answer phones as part of my job and it really does make a difference for how they treat me. Weird, right?

Leave a Reply

