From Russia With Love

Image

I know you are all wondering how I came to be this international woman of mystery that I am today. Well, from ages 11-13 I lived in Russia. Central Siberia to be exact. Our family went to the bustling city of Irkutsk to plant a church in the mid-90s. Russia has stayed in my heart ever since and it is today’s Sunday Kind of Love. A truly beautiful nation. Plus, these old photos are completely embarrassing, so it works for An Uncomfortable January too.

Image

A street in downtown Irkutsk.

Image

Houses in the snow. A common site.

Image

Oh, the athleticism displayed in this photo The great thing about long winters and so much snow is that it gets packed down hard enough to ski or ice skate if you need to go somewhere.

Image

The kitchen in a friend’s old house.

Image

I’ll give you one chance to find the American in this pic.

Image

Parent’s would gather and build amazing forts of ice and snow around the city. They had slides and stairs. A winter’s playground.

Image

Just the neighbors butchering meat in the hallway of our apartment building.

Image

One of our church’s small groups.

Image

My beautiful mama in blue. And that’s me in the red sheep sweatshirt. Handling some meat. Grind, slice, chop…

Image

Doing math homework on my abacus.

Well, hope you enjoyed memory lane as much as I did. I’m guessing your junior high experience was a little different than mine?

3 Comments

Filed under An Uncomfortable January, Global, My Life Thus Far

3 responses to “From Russia With Love

  1. Can you believe we really did that?

  2. I’ve been dying to read more about your Russian experience! So cool!

Leave a Reply

