Dirty Gospel : The Way You Are For A Reason

photo 1

I’d like you to all meet my new friend Jesica. She emailed me after reading Bethany’s story on here a few weeks ago and wanted to share with me her own “Dirty Gospel” tale. I was really inspired by Jesica and am pumped that I get to interview her for today’s post.

***

1. Tell us about yourself.

My name is Jesica and I am a 24 year old from Hawaii. I am currently a student at University of Hawaii and I am majoring in art. I was born with an impairment of all four extremities called hypoplasia or phocomelia.

I have phocomelia on my left leg and Amelia on my right. I lack forearms and hands. My femurs and tibias are short with abnormal feet. I get around with the use of my electronic wheelchair. There is no medical reason for why I was born this way, but I know God created me this way for a reason.

2. What is it like for you with hypoplasia? 

Growing up I felt really alone and isolated from everyone because of how I looked. But mainly I felt insecure of myself. I’m ashamed to go out in public because people constantly stare at me, laugh or talk behind my back. I try to ignore them, but it is hard when I can see them doing it with my own two eyes. Most of the time I just try to hide my arms so that they don’t see it.

3. In your email to me you mentioned God gave you a passion for art. What is it that you love about it?

What I love about art is that I can express myself through it. There is nothing like having a blank canvas waiting to be drawn or painted on. For me I like abstract art verses realism because I like having the idea of letting my imagination and creativity go wild. There is no limit in what you create.

photo 3

4. This series is called The Dirty Gospel because it is highlighting what it looks like when God reaches down into our places of pain or challenge and rescues us. What has The Dirty Gospel looked like in your life?

I have had many struggles, challenges and obstacles to face. More importantly I have had to deal with failing. Trying to get on track was hard for me because I did not believe in myself or that I could do it. I am constantly having negative thoughts going through my head and don’t have confidence in myself.

I remember going on my iPad and visiting my Bible app for the first time in a while. There was I verse I read that helped me with my struggles. After reading it, it helped me push through everything, trust in Him and wait for God’s will.

So do not throw away your confidence, because it has a great reward. For you need endurance in order to do God’s will and so receive what was promised.”  – Hebrews 10: 35-36

5. What advice would you give someone who is feeling that they are facing a daunting challenge at the moment?

My advice is to never give up on yourself and don’t let your failure hold you back.

Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you – unless, of course,  you fail the test. And I trust that you will discover that we have not failed the test.” -2 Cor. 13: 5-6

***

So often we demand that God provide everything we think we need in order to obey Him. Jesica is called to be an artist, and yet God didn’t give her hands. Sometimes it seems like God gives us the wrong tools for the job.

Our limitations are God’s opportunities for glory. —> click to tweet

Jesica only has one foot, but with God that is enough for her to create beautiful art. Maybe you wonder if God made you the wrong way. Do you have the right body, personality or gifting to do the things in your heart? I’m willing to bet that God has given you exactly what you need to accomplish what He has created you to do. It just may not come the way you expect.

Sharing is Caring

You can leave a comment or share this post via Twitter or Facebook by clicking here.

*** Want to get posts sent directly to your inbox a few times a week? Subscribe via email on the sidebar! ***

 

photo 2 Jessica Gacusan is an artist and student at the University of Hawaii. You can connect with Jessica on Facebook or check out her blog XpressingYourself.

9 Comments

Filed under Faith, The Dirty Gospel, Uncategorized

9 responses to “Dirty Gospel : The Way You Are For A Reason

  1. Kathy

    What a beautiful young woman and amazing story. Thanks for sharing it with us, Jessica!

  2. God is good. Thanks for sharing your story Jessica.

  3. Jessica, You inspire me !!! I am 66 years old and minored in Art Education in college. Over the years (and three strokes later) I’ve stopped drawing and painting, even though I always loved to. You and your story have encouraged me to begin again. Thank you. God bless. Maggie

  4. JeannineJeanninei

    Inspiring and encouraging! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Oh my goodness Jesica!! You are so beautiful in every way. Just look what God has given you to give to the world around you! Those who don’t quite know what to do with you are acting out of their own insecurities I would imagine. You, dear girl, are valuable and precious and I feel personally, that I have received a sparkly treasure in getting to read your story. You take my breath away! God bless you!

  6. Karen Wood

    What an amazing young woman you are Jessica! God’s perfect plan for your life has created such a wonderful testimony to His great glory! Thank you for sharing your story and your art.

  7. SASSELY

    LOOK AT YOU JESICA YOUR BEAUTIFUL AND YOU INSPIRE PEOPLE ON HERE I KNOW YOU FINALLY SHARE YOUR STORY AND HOPEFULLY I CAN SHARE MINES SOON YOUR MY BEST FRIEND AND IM SO PROUD OF YOU AND SO GLAD THAT IM YOUR BEST FRIEND…..

  8. so nice! more reasons to just be grateful!

Leave a Reply

