5 Ways I Want To Fail in 2014

5 ways

You may not be able to tell at first glance, but I am actually quite an overachiever. I know, I know. You’ve seen my Instagram feed  of  coffee, kids & dogs – pretty average stuff. ( not my kids – they are WAY above average and if you disagree then we can take this outside.)

But for real, I am freakishly good at some things. You know those people who can pick up any instrument and figure out how to play it in under 5 minutes? I am not one of those people. My lack of musical talent aside, there are some things that are second-nature to me.

I succeed at them without even trying really. Please, try not to hate me. I’m just gifted I suppose.

This year I want it to be different. Despite the fact that I am really really really good at these five things, I am hoping I fail miserably at them. Like point a finger and mock how bad I was at them in 2014.

1. I want to fail at acting nice. Historically I have aced this one. Polite smiles and nice words can come out of my mouth on cue. I don’t want to act nice in 2014, I want to be nice. I want to smile not out of politeness, but because I see the value in the person in front of me. No more thinking snarky comments that I’ve trained myself not to say out loud. Kind and uplifting words should spill out of this mouth instead of manipulative suggestions of negativity. Acting nice serves no benefit if I am not working towards becoming a more genuinely loving person. I hope I fail at my selfish tendencies.

2. I want to fail at making excuses. I am so good at this, I can do it in my sleep. Excuses about why I can’t trust the people I need the most. Excuses for why I can never become the woman I hope to become or why the dreams in my heart are impossible. Excuses for why I can’t exercise or keep a semi-organized closet.

There are so many excuses for why I can’t be who I want to be. Not in 2014. This is the year I fail to make excuses for myself.

3. I want to fail at filling my calendarI have a tendency to fill my days with all the “oughts”, “shoulds” and “wants”. I cram my schedule with projects and details in the name of productivity. Multi-tasking is seen as mature and responsible. Well, I am not buying it this year.

I want to make time to squeeze my kid’s cheeks, hold my husband’s hand and get lost in a daydream or two. I hope I fail to be too busy for my friends when they call, because in 50 years they will be the ones who remember me, not my to-do list.

4. I want to fail at being terrorized by my imagination. Any creative or imaginative person can tell you how easy it is to let your mind wander in the wrong direction. Down the path of assuming what people think, wondering how I would react if some tragedy were to strike or experiencing all forms of non-existent scenarios.

This year I hope to make a mockery of this habit by allowing my imagination to build up , not tear down my future. To inspire and not bully my spirit.

5. I want to fail at meeting expectations. Is there a reality show competition for this? Cause I’d totally win. This is the queen of meeting expectations here. Now, that doesn’t sound like a bad thing – achieving the goal set, doing what others hoped I would do and hitting the nail just right on the head.

Well, I’m giving expectations the boot this year. I look back and realize how much I didn’t do because I was only going to the line. Doing just what it took to get the job done. If the requirement was run one mile, I’d only run one mile even if I could have run two. ( I can’t run two miles. Heck, I probably can’t even run one mile. I refer to point #2 on this one )

I have started doing just enough to get by. How much do I miss out on because I stop at what is expected? How much do I hold back when there is still more to give?

When a friend is crying about a boy, I want to listen for how ever many hours it takes and not just the 30 minutes I said I had when she called. In 2014 I want to run the extra mile, beat the deadline not just meet it and bust through the goals in front of me.

Instead of meeting expectations I want to exceed them. Especially my own.

Traditionally this is the day  you set goals for how you want to grow in the coming year. I’ve realized that no matter how much I succeed in one thing, I must learn to fail in an other. Eating a salad is great, but kinda pointless if you follow it up with a box of donuts.

So, this year I have decided these are the 5 things I want to fail at. Starve these habits out in order for healthier ones to grow. Another year of succeeding in these things is another year robbed of its fullness. I believe that God has better things for me than a life crippled from these toxic tendencies and I believe that God will help me do it.

Sometimes failure is the only way to win. And in 2014 I intend to fail. —> click to tweet

*** Want to receive posts directly into your inbox a few times a week? Subscribe via email in the sidebar. ***

Sharing Is Caring

Leave a comment or share this post via Twitter or Facebook by clicking here.

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “5 Ways I Want To Fail in 2014

  1. They all sound like wonderful things to fail at. You had me very confused at first. Very clever. 🙂

  2. Clever post! Love this. I think I need to fail at these same things too! Thanks for prompting me!

  3. I’m right there with you on all of these!!!!

  4. Cindy

    I love #4 and #5 (really I love the whole list but if I had to pick two).

    I feel like you have summed up well how I feel about my past year. This year I want to dream build in my imagination and build dreams in reality and soar beyond expectations of what I think I can do alone.

  5. I want to fail at being politically correct
    I just want to be me
    And I want to be accepted for me
    Period!

  6. can i adopt all of these failures? this is all so good.

  7. I was completely enthralled by your post. I don’t make resolutions, but if I had too it would definitely be yours. I always have good intentions, but I never seem to get anything done. Thank you for sharing.

  8. Mel

    You wreck me!

Leave a Reply

