Go ahead, dreamer. Do the crazy thing.

b466580de92bf03b184a557664a95f7d

You know. That ‘thing’.

It never seems to go away. The idea, the dream, the passion, the vision that stays ever before you. The ‘what if’ scenario that resurfaces in your imagination – over and over and over. No matter how you try and rationalize it out of your psyche, it keeps coming back. As if you were made to think it. Born to do it.

Sometimes they are big and busting at the seams with meaning. Others are simple whims that buzz around your head making you smile as you think of them. If only, you think to yourself. If only I had the time, the money, the capacity, the opportunity…If only I could do it.

My gypsy soul has done some crazy things.

I fell in love when I said I wouldn’t. So in love, I married at age 21. The thing I was too young to do.

For years I dreamed of Seattle. Going and living in that vibrant city which sits on the edge of the next-big-thing all the time. When I was 23 I went there to plant a church. And I did. I did the thing that looked impossible.

I have a passion for travel. So, I became a travel agent. The dream job for me in so many ways. I made no money at it and didn’t renew my license. I did the crazy thing that failed…and it wasn’t that bad.

Seattle became a home beyond what I could have imagined. So much of what defined me was there and one day we felt the nudge of God to let it all go. Pack up and move on to the next thing. So, despite many tears…I moved. I did the thing that felt like it would kill me, but it didn’t.

Graduate school has been a passion of mine for years. I decided to study for the GRE…hours I studied and then never took it. I did the thing that never went anywhere but taught me so much anyway.

I have two kids and am adopting two more. I am doing the thing that seems beyond my capacity.

I am trying to write a book. I am doing the thing that intimidates me.

I am pursuing my passion to see an end to human trafficking and work with an organization to see the 27 million slaves in the world set free. I am doing the thing that seems too big for me. The dream that has always felt intangible and distant. The dream that scares me the most.

So many things.

Crazy, beautiful, motivating. Ideas and dreams I couldn’t shake.

Thoughts that didn’t seem to matter to anyone else – they were the thoughts that wouldn’t leave me alone. I do things that seem impressive to others and things that people find trivial. I do things that no one else understand but God and myself. Some I do well and others I fumble. But I do them.

Go ahead. You were made to do the crazy things.

The idea you tinker with in your spare time. Things so crazy no one has done yet. Or things so seemingly ordinary people don’t understand your passion for it. Lives so brave they make the complacent uncomfortable. Focus so wild it intimidates the giants who say it can’t be done. You were made for this.

So go ahead. Do them. Do the crazy things.

*** I go great with your morning commute, lunch breaks and bouts of insomnia. Subscribe via email in the sidebar and get posts sent directly to your inbox.***

Blogging Is A Team Sport

Did you know? Blogging is a team sport. Leave a comment or share this post via social media by clicking here.

12 Comments

Filed under Faith, Fire, human trafficking, Lifestyle, My Life Thus Far, something bigger, Uncategorized, Whimsy

12 responses to “Go ahead, dreamer. Do the crazy thing.

  1. Awesome stuff. These are inspiring words. I love the idea of -doing-. I feel like there is a good release even when it doesn’t go as planned. Though I’m not always the best at action.

  2. Jeanette

    You always inspire me Elizabeth. I’ve just put a link to Lark and Bloom on my site so others can read your heartfelt words too. You are using your God given talent for writing and connecting with people so well. Thank you for pushing us a little. I know I need it!

  3. I have been feeling lost in the swirl of unfulfilled dreams and daily expectations, wanting to give up them both altogether. I have also considered unsubscribing from your posts in my attempt to simplify my emails. I’m so glad I didn’t. Thank you for this encouragement this morning. I will be re-reading this post often:)

  4. Love this post!! So inspiring and full of truth! Thanks for paving a way for others!! I was going to spend this morning dreaming and I saw this in my inbox this morning when I woke up… BEYOND EXCITED and definitely dreaming!!

  5. Beautiful writing! Your blog is so pretty! I love it.

  6. Liz, thank you so much for your blog!
    So often, I feel like it aligns exactly with what God is trying to drill in my mind when I read it. Right when I need to be pushed just a little bit further, I stumble on one of your posts.
    Your blog is so life giving, thank you for sharing your successes, but even more so, the way God has been faithful in your failings.

    You are such an inspiration and I can’t emphasize enough how huge it is to have a woman of faith to look up to and aspire to emulate.

    Excited for what’s next in your life!

    -E

  7. Pingback: BBQ: Do the Crazy thing | VernetteOutLoud

  8. a curious mind

    Wow, this is so inspiring. I guess my life would be so much more interesting and eventful if I did all the things…instead of thinking about doing them…

  9. Once again, you or God through you I guess, has hit the nail on the head. Doing that ‘thing’ that clings like super glue to my heart when in the eyes of others seems ridiculous or wrong or a waste of time (“at your age?”), etc. is that thing I can’t help but do, because He handed it to me and said, “Ok, here, take this opportunity and run! Go change the world with its goodness!!” Yes, I believe God does use exclamation points, don’t you? 🙂
    In HIS amazing love, Mama Jeannie

  10. Malinda

    My heart is about to beat out of my chest after reading this! Thank you!!

  11. your crazy dreams are beautiful and inspiring, Liz! so good!

  12. Hi Elizabeth! I left a comment on your old site maybe . . . anyway, I’m friends with Brooke, and I actually DO have prints of this available now at http://www.thecrazything.com.

    Glad to know that you’re doing the crazy thing and can’t wait to hear an update on how it’s all going.

    peace.

Leave a Reply

